BT Broadband

For all the none biking stuff. Say hello, chew the fat or flame the forum.

BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 13:42

Thinking of swapping to BT for broadband and TV in the new home as want 4k Motogp.

Quick question on positioning the BT smart hub router. Does it have to be plugged into the Master BT socket or can I locate anywhere in the home where best suited to our needs as long as plugged into a phone socket?
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby D6Nutz » 21 Mar 2017, 15:48

They recommend plugging it into the master socket to reduce line noise and interference.

The WiFi should be good enough to cover your new mansion ;)

If your going for bt TV then get them to chuck in some extenders, they basically turn your mains ring into a network. You can then plug the BT box into an extender on any power point. That's how mine is setup and it works like a dream.
You never really learn to swear until you learn to drive.

If everything seems under control, you're not going fast enough - Mario Andretti
User avatar
D6Nutz
 
Posts: 3026
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 21:26
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 602 times
Your Bike: KTM 990 Superduke

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 17:13

Cheers Jon.

I already have some extenders so will just get more of the same type and link them in if I need too.

I think the master bt socket is in the front room but would prefer the router in the family room hence the question does it matter if I move it.
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 17:14

D6Nutz wrote:If your going for bt TV then get them to chuck in some extenders, they basically turn your mains ring into a network. You can then plug the BT box into an extender on any power point. That's how mine is setup and it works like a dream.


And don't forget to press the encryption button, otherwise you could (as I did) unknowingly connect to your neighbours crappy internet and spend several weeks complaining about the sh!tty network speed!

I only figured it out when I went on a porn site and BT Parental blocker blocked me. I thought that's odd, I'm with TalkTalk!
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby D6Nutz » 21 Mar 2017, 17:19

Think mine work differently to yours, my extenders are lan (cable) based rather than WiFi.
You never really learn to swear until you learn to drive.

If everything seems under control, you're not going fast enough - Mario Andretti
User avatar
D6Nutz
 
Posts: 3026
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 21:26
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 602 times
Your Bike: KTM 990 Superduke

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 17:33

D6Nutz wrote:Think mine work differently to yours, my extenders are lan (cable) based rather than WiFi.


So are mine, my Mac never connects to the WIFI when I'm in the office. It connects to a thunderbolt hub which has a lan cable.

When I checked the router log, there were ethernet devices I didn't own. So he or she hadn't encrypted theirs either and was connecting to mine!

All sorted now though, there's a little button you hold for 3 seconds on each extender in tern and it encrypts the data between them.
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 17:40

Who is Ian and his cable :? :? :?
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 17:42

Some people call him RJ45.
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby C00kiemonster » 21 Mar 2017, 17:46

Depends on what type of BT connection you go for. As your house is a new build, does it have fibre to the home? Some do and it's a special router, but much much faster broadband :)
User avatar
C00kiemonster
 
Posts: 3742
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 07:11
Location: Froggie Land
Has thanked: 1096 times
Been thanked: 515 times
Your Bike: KTM RC8

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 18:03

I don't know Leigh.

My virgin media was fibre to the house but would need to find out on new place and bt
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 18:11

Personally Blade in a big 3 storey house I'd ditch the BT Home Hub Router, ask them for a Openreach modem and get your own router. Don't know what they supply now but I had the HomeHub 5 and it really struggled in my house. That way the modem goes next to the socket and the router goes where you want it.

I'm looking at one of these, much more powerful and I it's got it's own OS so I can individually monitor the kids devices. You can set time limits per device and limit the web sites they can go on, all without BT's crappy parental control software.

Not cheap mind, but these guys are NAS Drive specialists and you can turn the router into a home media centre.

phpBB [video]
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 18:33

I'll have to have a look at Monty.

Tbh we have that much going on at the moment a simple install would be our preference. Sound's lazy but the to do list is aleady huge and growing daily.

I have some TP link's to hardwire some devices using the mains ring main plus a couple of wifi extenders and was hoping that would be effective.
Last edited by Blade on 21 Mar 2017, 19:24, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby D6Nutz » 21 Mar 2017, 18:42

Worth checking the house isn't already networked up.

A guy I worked with had his house fully networked with at least on point in each room, all the modem an switch gear was hidden in the electric cupboard.

You might even be able to get your builder to do it if it hasn't already been done.
You never really learn to swear until you learn to drive.

If everything seems under control, you're not going fast enough - Mario Andretti
User avatar
D6Nutz
 
Posts: 3026
Joined: 21 Oct 2013, 21:26
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 602 times
Your Bike: KTM 990 Superduke

Re: BT Broadband

Postby C00kiemonster » 21 Mar 2017, 19:20

Blade wrote:I'll have to have a look at Monty.

Tbh we have that much going on at the moment a simple install would be our preference. Sound's lazy but the to do list is aleady huge and growing daily.

I have some TP link's to hardwire some devices using the mains ring main plus a couple of wifi extenders and was hoping that would be effective.


That would do you to start with tbh, then refine when your in and settled.

It is worth checking which services BT will do - fibre would be better for 4k streaming if you ever need it (y)
User avatar
C00kiemonster
 
Posts: 3742
Joined: 22 Oct 2013, 07:11
Location: Froggie Land
Has thanked: 1096 times
Been thanked: 515 times
Your Bike: KTM RC8

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 19:26

I have opted for fibre Cookie and they have guaranteed 49 mbps as a minimum. Netflix recommend 25mbps for 4k streaming so should be OK. Tbh if bt sell me a guaranteed minimum 49mbps and 4k ultra HD package and it doesn't work it will be getting upgraded for free or going back and me refunded.

The router I get is the smart hub which according to this review is a big improvement on the home hub 5. So fingers crossed the set up should be OK.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/bt-smart-hub-review
Last edited by Blade on 21 Mar 2017, 19:47, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 19:31

D6Nutz wrote:Worth checking the house isn't already networked up.

A guy I worked with had his house fully networked with at least on point in each room, all the modem an switch gear was hidden in the electric cupboard.

You might even be able to get your builder to do it if it hasn't already been done.


I don't Know Jon it maybe as they don't seem to skimp on things and everything seems high end and well thought out.

The lounge, family room, media room, our bedroom, and the play room all have these media plates in.

Image

I couldn't tell you if that's a network or not. I just pour oil in things and hit stuff with hammers at my level of tech :?
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 19:45

Little flappy thing, bottom right is a network socket. Nice!
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Blade » 21 Mar 2017, 20:10

Is it as simple as modem cable from router to the little flappy socket then all little flappy sockets in all rooms are linked to the tinterweb hubber ?

And wtf is the "Return" is this for distributing a TV box output to other rooms ?
User avatar
Blade
 
Posts: 12412
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 18:43
Location: North West
Has thanked: 1460 times
Been thanked: 2001 times
Your Bike: Kawasaki ZX10R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 20:22

Image
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Re: BT Broadband

Postby Monty » 21 Mar 2017, 20:24

That Smart HomeHub thing is both a modem and the switch combined.
Monty™© MCMLXXII
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 3654
Joined: 12 Mar 2014, 07:59
Location: Buxton
Has thanked: 900 times
Been thanked: 845 times
Your Bike: 2010 ZX6R

Next

Return to Slapper Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest